Rotsne

“He has lost it”

In culture on July 4, 2014 at 19:06

I was visiting my brother when the phone rang. It was his son – my nephew. He was at the Roskilde Festival which is some kind of music event in the eastern part of Denmark called the Devil’s Island by us from the real Denmark.

My nephew was talking about Earl Sweatshirt – his big idol.

I remember some years ago when I visited my brother that I heard the songs Earl Sweatshirt made. While I found the lyrics too modern I could understand why it appealed to the youth.

For reasons unknown to me the mother of Earl Sweatshirt wanted to derail his career so he was abducted to a wilderness program and later sent to Samoa where he was mistreated until he was released.

Since he reentered the world as a free man, he seems to have lost the drive which made him something special. My nephew was so disappointed that he almost was ready to return home before the event is over. However it is rather expensive to go this event – several thousand DKK – so my brother promised him to wire extra money so he could get drunk and perhaps enjoy some of the other music.

It makes me wonder. Why rob your child of his career? What kind of motivation could justify this? As a father it does not make sense. If it had been my son I would have let my son outlive his potential.

  1. These programs are sick to the core. Crazy they even exist in this day and age.

Leave a comment

Den tungeste Arv

Når Danmarks historie virker rigtig ondt

When far from home

When you are not home, you are not you

Uddannelse til ingenting

om mit liv efter uddannelse og inden jeg forhåbentlig snart kan stoppe med at arbejde igen

Jack1993's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Henrik Hansen's blog

Henrik Hansen's blog on everything and everybody

Søren Hansens blog

It's my life.

Jens Sørensens blog - tanker fra et eksil

Studerende og bitter i en afkrog fjernt fra civilisationen

Ude er godt men hjemme er bedst

En side for dem som overvejer at leve og studere i udlandet

birthe1951

Birthe født i 1951 - om mit liv og mine holdninger

Bentes hjemmeblog's Blog

Lidt om vores families liv

Today a child died

Statements about how the world is seen from Denmark

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.