Rotsne

Debbie – Candi is looking for you

In culture on November 12, 2015 at 19:06

I is not known is the Debbie who posted on a blog made in connection with arrests of employees and owners of the Reclamation Ranch in Alabama is the Debbie Candi was looking for.

It seems that both Debbie and Candi were among the prisoners of Conscience locked up at the Rebekah girls home in Corpus Christi (Yes, they actually called the city that) in Texas.

Here the girls were subjected to massive abuse involving corporal punishment and prayers. Many broke, some committed suicide after their stay and some managed to escape. Candi wrote:

My first roommate was a Debbie. It was Oct 1975 when I arrived. We shared the first room on left, down the right side hallway, off the living room area. There was a hole in the wall, hidden behind the bed’s headboard, to one of the lockup rooms… A hole, that ironically, became my source of sanity, as Debbie and Kim, whispered to me, trying to calm me, when I found myself Christmas night, in that horrible room. My crime, I shared a smoke with two other girls, behind the school, after lunch. Spent the afternoon on my knees begging for forgiveness. It wasn’t to be forgiven… That night, between 15 and 20 licks, thru thin pjs, deemed a ringleader, by aunt n., a pinched faced spinster, and thrown into lockup for 3 days. The other two only got licks for smoking. I ran in April 1976. It was a Sunday night, with 15 minutes to go before church got out, that I slipped through the broken window, a hole created by the 3 new girls who ran earlier that same evening. I knew what would happen if I was caught. I’d seen it myself before to others who’d tried. My gut told me to GO! I MADE IT!! I GOT AWAY! I hid behind a small sage bush as church traffic poured out onto the road. I sprinted across the road and walked thru crops in the fields at night, hitting the dirt when I saw headlights. Crossed a fence onto a military base, across the field near the airstrip, under another fence onto a main highway, picked up by a Mexican couple and was gone!

Are you my Debbie? I too hadn’t thought about this place in years. I googled Roloff on 1/2/13, not expecting to find anything not knowing the politics going on behind it.

Did you find a rebekah support group? Can you share where? Is there a way to rewatch 20/20 show?

At some point the state of Texas intervened and put the pastor responsible – Lester Roloff – behind bars.

When the paster crashed and died in a plane together with his “special girls” his employees moved out of state and created a number of group homes in several states. Many of them has been the target of investigations by the authorities.

Both Reclamation Ranch and the Rebekah home in Texas is among those listed as Teen Asylums.

It seems to be a very sick culture.

Leave a Reply

When far from home

When you are not home, you are not you

Uddannelse til ingenting

om mit liv efter uddannelse og inden jeg forhåbentlig snart kan stoppe med at arbejde igen

Jack1993's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sex and Other Four Letter Words...

Stories and Essays seeking Truth through Controversy

Missing TTI Victims Teens

Victimized Teens missing as result of the Troubled Teens Industry

Henrik Hansen's blog

Henrik Hansen's blog on everything and everybody

Søren Hansens blog

It's my life.

Jens Sørensens blog - tanker fra et eksil

Studerende og bitter i en afkrog fjernt fra civilisationen

Little Wordlings

Poetry, Science and other Wordlings

Ude er godt men hjemme er bedst

En side for dem som overvejer at leve og studere i udlandet

birthe1951

Birthe født i 1951 - om mit liv og mine holdninger

Bentes hjemmeblog's Blog

Lidt om vores families liv

Today a child died

Statements about how the world is seen from Denmark

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

