Rotsne

Punishing DUI

In International justice on July 25, 2010 at 06:48

The poor inmates in the Century Regional Detention Facility in Lynwood in California are tired of Lindsay Lohan according to People Magazine. Due to obvious security reasons she is isolated from the general prison population and the other inmates in her block is put inside their cells when she is moved around. General guidelines about visitation do also not apply because the staff has to see to the relative’s security also.

I don’t know what Judge Marsha Revel was thinking about when she gave Lohan the order to enter a prison system very close to a collapse. The burden Lohan inflicts on the system will result in the suffering of the other inmates.

In fact the punishment was wrong from the very start. Lohan is an addict. She should have realized that long time ago. Her attorney should have realized that when she made the plea bargain resulting in Lohan taking some classes she had no business attending in the first place. Basically when you deal with addicts only one rule apply: Does the addict want to change?

It is very clear that Lohan doesn’t. It doesn’t mean that she should not be punished. DUI is a serious business. People die every year due to drunken drivers. Others may suffer for the rest of their lives. For my part there is not a single day where I am not reminded of the drunken driver who rear-ended my car when I was waiting for the green light some years ago. He didn’t see me. While he got his car to drive off leaving me trying to get my family out of the car with the doors jammed while I was hurting a lot another driver followed the fool and instructed the police where to find him. The fool was unable to stand on his own feet due to his drunkenness.

I don’t know what kind of punishment he got. I haven’t followed up on the case because I had to look after my family where two members beside me suffer from illnesses (not related to DUI-incident). General Denmark punishes people driving drunk very hard. The fine is a month’s pay based on reports from the IRS. There is prison time involved and the drivers license is gone. Only IF THEY CHOOSE to take the alcohol education classes they can retake their license once the suspended time lasting 6 months or more is over. It is their choice. Having known a lot of addicts I would rather see 99 percent of them choosing not to take the classes instead of letting them taking them just for fun so they can drive and endanger us moving around in the traffic again.

There is nothing wrong with drinking a lot and choose not to drive a car. But there is a lot wrong not being honest with yourself. Some say that the only difference between general drunk people and addicts is that the addicts attend meetings. I would say that the drunken ones in many cases are the people who knows themselves best.

This week a well-known actor named Kiefer Sutherland visited Denmark. A local Danish magazine was in town with him. He drank what equals 24 beers during the night in town. I know that he had been arrested twice and I hope that he has realized that he never shall drive a car again. Only if he continues to be without a drivers license I will respect him.

Back to the Lohan case. What kind of punishment would I have given her if I was in the shoes of Judge Revel?

I would have given her a fine based on the income she had at the time. It would have hurt. I would have ordered her to use a Saturday ever week for at least 3 months picking up trash along the highways. She did hurt the society and the safety of the highways by her actions. She should give something back related to the roads. Finally I would have taken her drivers license and issued an order that she could have it back IF she choose to take the classes. I would have put a number on the classes. If she started and then stayed away it would be her loss. It should be her choice.

I believe that Lohan is a good actress who has to pay a price so she can act. I believe that she was pushed into the business because her family needed an income. I believe that if she had been allowed to choose her line of work on her own like many other kids, we would not have seen her near a stage. I believe that her family got her addicted because they wanted the money and now she is caught up in the mess. She likes the money and has realized that she can choose between working and doing her mixture of prescription medication and alcohol or she can retire from the business and do something else where she can live without medication and alcohol.

Her case is not rare. I know a lot of people who are addicts because they were forced to live a life they are not comfortable with. They were general underachievers being pushed into situations they cannot handle. I have a perfect good advice to parents: If your child is an underachiever then let your children underachieve!. You do not want your child to pay the price Lohan is paying!

I feel for the other inmates who are suffering because Judge Revel punished them indirectly by putting Lohan in their jail. I feel for Lohan because she didn’t get the right consequences of her actions. I feel for the people using the roads in California because they have to live in a society where people drink and drive.

Now my neck hurts again and I have to stop writing.

Don’t drink and drive!!!

  1. It is a good message to treat the problems instead of unrelated issues.

Leave a Reply

Uddannelse til ingenting

om mit liv efter uddannelse og inden jeg forhåbentlig snart kan stoppe med at arbejde igen

Jack1993's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sex and Other Four Letter Words...

Stories and Essays seeking Truth through Controversy

Missing TTI Victims Teens

Victimized Teens missing as result of the Troubled Teens Industry

Henrik Hansen's blog

Henrik Hansen's blog on everything and everybody

Søren Hansens blog

It's my life.

Jens Sørensens blog - tanker fra et eksil

Studerende og bitter i en afkrog fjernt fra civilisationen

Little Wordlings

Poetry, Science and other Wordlings

Ude er godt men hjemme er bedst

En side for dem som overvejer at leve og studere i udlandet

birthe1951

Birthe født i 1951 - om mit liv og mine holdninger

Bentes hjemmeblog's Blog

Lidt om vores families liv

Today a child died

Statements about how the world is seen from Denmark

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

